2019 Reflections

From the CEO

We here at THIE cannot thank you enough for another successful year. We continued to extend our reach into Oklahoma, have maintained a 99% rate of retention with our subscribers and saw an upgrade in our AM Best rating.

Once again, the THIE board has authorized surplus refunds to our subscribers to continue through 2020. These refunds are subject to the availability of funds from each individual subscriber’s account.  Since the surplus refund program began in 2011, over $6 million has been returned to our hospitals!

It is our hope that THIE will be your first choice for your insurance needs. Thank you again for helping to make 2019 one of our best years yet.


A Personal Thank You

We would like to recognize and show our deep admiration and appreciation to our Board of Directors. Our board consists of 13 C-suite leaders from across Texas who are uniquely equipped to understand the needs and challenges of the hospital market. It is with their leadership and expertise that THIE continues to grow and alter its services to meet the needs of our subscribers.

A special thank you must be said for an outstanding leader that has served our board for many years and helped make THIE the company it is today:

To the immediate past Chairman of the Board, Russell Tippin, President and CEO of Medical Center Health System; thank you for all the work you have done for THIE. Russell has served on the THIE board since 2008 and served as Chairman during 2019.  Winner of the 2019 TORCH Gorden Russell Merit Award, a leader with more heart will not be found.  As witnessed by Texas and most of America, Russell led with compassion and faith during the recent shootings in Odessa his first week on the job at Medical Center Health System.

We ask that you please join us in welcoming James Vanek as the new THIE Board Chair! James has served on the THIE board since 2005 and became Chair on January 1, 2020.


Subscriber News

THIE subscribers that hold a cyber liability policy, please note that NAS Insurance Services has gone through an acquisition and is now known as Tokio Marine Houston Casualty Company (TMHCC). Our subscribers will receive a conditional non-renewal notice that will further explain the NAS acquisition when renewal time is close.

Over the last four decades, THIE has focused on providing strength, stability and service to its subscribers; partners who have become like family. Through these partnerships. THIE proudly insures 86 percent of the non-system, rural hospitals in Texas.

When you partner with THIE, you’re not just a number– you’re an owner. That means when THIE succeeds, you do too. THIE distributes its profits back to its subscribers—over $6 million refunded to subscribers since 2011.

THIE is ranked as one of the top Central Texas-based property and casualty insurance companies with consistently high ratings from the Texas Department of Insurance for risk management services. With over 40 years’ experience in this industry, no one understands or provides for the unique insurance needs of hospitals better than THIE.


Thank you to those who have been with us for over 30 years!

Iraan General Hospital District, Iraan, TX, 44 years

Smithville Hospital Authority, Smithville, TX, 43 years

Pecos County Memorial Hospital, Ft Stockton, TX, 43 years

Tyler County Hospital District, Woodville, TX, 43 years

Parmer County Community Hospital, Friona, TX, 43 years

Refugio County Memorial Hospital, Refugio, TX, 43 years

Starr County Memorial Hospital, Rio Grande City, TX, 43 years

Jackson County Hospital District, Edna, TX, 43 years

Stephens Memorial Hospital, Breckenridge, TX, 42 years

Haskell Memorial Hospital, Haskell, TX, 42 years

Columbus Community Hospital, Columbus, TX, 41 years

Rolling Plains Memorial Hospital, Sweetwater, TX, 41 years

Medical Arts Hospital, Lamesa, TX, 40 years

Lavaca Medical Center, Hallettsville, TX, 36 years

Crosbyton Clinic Hospital, Crosbyton, TX, 35 years

Connally Memorial Medical Center, Floresville, TX, 35 years

Coleman County Medical Center, Coleman, TX, 35 years

North Runnels Hospital, Winters, TX, 34 years

Hansford County Hospital District, Spearman, TX, 34 years

Bosque County Hospital District, Clifton, TX, 34 years

Permian Regional Medical Center, Andrews, TX, 34 years

Ochiltree General Hospital, Perryton, TX, 33 years

Parkview Hospital, Wheeler, TX, 33 years

Copyright © Information 2024 All Rights Reserved.

Site Developed by NAMIC MarketTech.